Lesson 4: you will never be able to please everybody.

So, It has been nearly two weeks since I have posted. What happened? Life. Just as it seems I have picked up all the pieces, something comes along and shatters it for me.

I have truly had one of the not so better weeks – bike got stolen, roommates got in a massive fight and to top it all off I also got sick! Is it any wonder that I feel terrible (not only physically but also emotionally). It is strange to hope that for once things will just go your way?

Looking back, the thing that just made me feel the worst was this whole fight with my roommates. I have mentioned before that I absolutely hate drama and I have come to realise the place and people I live with cannot exist without it. I wish people who was 30 years old had all their ‘ducks in a row’ and that they would be able to talk each other like adults.

Is it so hard to understand that I sometimes live more in my head than in my emotions? Just because I don’t cry or get outrageously angry or say mean things, doesn’t mean I don’t have a heart. Sometimes I wish just for one moment people would even consider my perspective, but they are to caught up in trivial things to even think of anyone else.

Apparently by not speaking up, you still end up being the culprit because you chose not to get involved. And this brings me to one of the lessons that I have recently learned: you will never be able to please everybody. There will always be people out there that will be ‘haters’ and no matter what you do or what you say, you will not be able to fix them or make them like you more.

You have to distance yourself from these people because all they do is create this negative energy which fills this bigger void of negativity and sucks you in. Once you start distancing yourself, you will find it is easier to believe that things can be better. You can start putting that positive energy out there and realise that you don’t need to be anchored by these people who will never like you. Because if you know who you are and you are content with your choices – you don’t need their approval.

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” – Steve Jobs

Leave a Reply

